Cooking

Easter Meal and Recipes

Easter is a Christian holiday. It is a holiday to celebrate the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead. There are 46 days in between Ash Wednesday and Easter Sunday. The lent season is meant for Christians to practice their religion through prayer, repentance of sins, and through self-denial. The lent season itself is 40 days, allowing each Sunday as a “cheat day” for whatever the individual may have given up.

For me, I chose to give up desserts. This was by far the hardest thing for me today. Well, if I chose to give up running, that may have been harder. I cheated on more than just Sundays. One week I cheated 3 extra times in addition to Sunday. Most weeks I cheated twice. This week, is my FIRST week I have not cheated at all, and it is FRIDAY. Okay, okay, you probably think why did I even bother since I cheated so many times? Well, I’ve tried to do this for the past few years, and I only lasted 3-4 days. So for me, this is a huge victory. I certainly practiced a lot of self-denial. I don’t know how your work environment is, but at my place of work, there always seems to be desserts everywhere. And since I am a baker as well, a lot of my co-workers encourage me to try desserts just so that I can compare mine to another that is fairly good. Thanks, co-workers! I don’t need any help in encouraging me to eat dessert!

Alas, the lent season is almost over, and on Easter Sunday, I will celebrate by eating dessert! I will also celebrate the joyous day of remembering the reason why we have this holiday. Easter marks the celebration of Jesus rising from his grave. A miraculous feat. And a feat that was done because he loved each and every one of us so much. He died on the cross so that we could have everlasting life.

Alright, so because it is a holiday, obviously some cooking needs to be done. I am in charge of making all of the side dishes for my family. I found some perhaps non-traditional recipes, but they are all super easy to make and are perfect recipes to get me ready for the warmer weather around the corner. I will share some of my recipes I plan to make, then share the rest with you on Sunday with pictures of the finished products!

Deviled Eggs (c’mon you have to have these!)

  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 12 hard boiled eggs
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 tsp yellow mustard
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp white vinegar
  • 1 T parsley to sprinkle on top
  • 1 T paprika to sprinkle on top
  1. Peel 12 hard boiled eggs. Then cut them in half, placing them on a plate. Remove the yolk into a separate bowl.
  2. Add the mayonnaise, mustard, vinegar, onion powder and black pepper. Stir until smooth, and creamy.
  3. Using a plastic Ziploc bag, spoon egg yolk mixture into bag. Cut off one corner of bag. Squeeze the egg yolk mixture into each egg white half. Repeat for remaining halves.
  4. Sprinkle with parsley and paprika.

Crockpot Potatoes Au Gratin

  • 5 potatoes (4 cups), sliced thinly, and peeled
  • 1 cup Velveeta cheese
  • 1/2 cup sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 yellow onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • black pepper and salt for seasoning
  1. Place a layer of potatoes on bottom of crockpot, then about 1/4 of the onion. Season with black pepper and a scant amount of salt. Place another layer of potatoes on top of this layer and another 1/4 of the onion, and again season with black pepper and scant salt. Repeat this until all potatoes, and onion, are used up.
  2. In microwave safe dish, place velveeta cheese, milk and sharp cheddar cheese for 30 seconds. Stir. Microwave for an additional 30 seconds. Repeat this until the cheese sauce is melted.
  3. Pour the cheese sauce over potatoes, but do not stir. Cook on high for 3-4 hours.
  4. Enjoy!

What do you plan to have for your Easter menu?

Leave a Reply

