Cooking

French Dip Sandwich in 20 minutes!

I steered clear of red meat for a number of years, when my mother was diagnosed with breast cancer. Red meat is touted as not being the best choice of foods. While it is true that red meat is high in saturated fats, which can lead to increased weight, and not be good for the heart, it also has a variety of benefits.

When choosing read meat in the store, make sure to choose a very lean cut. If you are choosing hamburger, try to choose the 90 – 95% lean hamburger. Cuts of meat that are considered lean include: eye of round roast and steak, sirloin  steak, top round roast, and bottom round roast. Other thoughts to keep in mind, choose cuts that indicate “choice” or “select”, rather than “prime”, as prime tends to have more fat in the cut. The USDA indicates extra lean  cuts of beef as having less than 5 grams of fat. A lean cut of fat has less than 10 grams of fat.

Well I recently began eating a lot more red meat lately. The one benefit of red meat is its abundant source of iron. This is one micronutrient I know I do not get enough of. I have rekindled my enjoyment of the flavor of this meat, and the versatility of it.

One recipe I have been meaning to try for quite some time is French dip sandwiches. One thing you’ll find of me is that I have very little patience. So, unless I have lots of time to cook all day, I like to make my meals lickety-split. I found a French dip sandwich recipe online, which required 45 minutes of simmering the sauce. No thanks! Hence, my own version of the sandwich, which was made in less than 20 minutes.

French Dip Sandwich

Ingredients:

  • 4 Everything Bagels
  • 1 lb ground hamburger
  • 1/2 yellow onion, diced
  • 1 Tbsp oregano
  • 1 tsp soy sauce
  • 1 Tbsp worcestersire sauce
  • 1 Tbsp A1 steak sauce
  • 1 cup chicken broth

Directions:

  1. Over medium-high heat in a medium size skillet, cook hamburger until done (it cooks more evenly and faster if you put the lid on the pan). Drain off juices once meat is cooked. Place meat in separate bowl
  2. Using same pan, put onion in skillet and cook 5 minutes until tender. Add broth, oregano and the three sauces. Add hamburger back into skillet. Cook 5 minutes just until everything is warmed.
  3. Separate bagels into top and bottom halves. Dip both halves into the juices in the pan until it is soaked into the bagel. Add the meat mixture on top of the bagel. Do this for the remaining 3 bagel sandwiches.
  4. Enjoy!

frenchdip.jpg

1 thought on “French Dip Sandwich in 20 minutes!”

Leave a Reply

