Cooking

Easy Beef Wellington Recipe

Ever wish that you had enough time to make a fancy meal? Just once? My life is probably characteristic of most others’. It’s a rat race. I get myself involved in so many things that cooking, while I enjoy it, often takes a back seat. I make a concerted effort to make healthy meals, but forget fancy meals. The faster I can whip it together, the better.

It’s interesting how much our daily life schedule can change. Not too many months ago, I had just finished graduate school and was waiting to begin my new job. I was off for several months. I truly enjoyed my time off, but initially, until I figured out activities to occupy my time, I was chomping at the bit to begin working. Eventually, cooking became my outlet. I made homemade bread, homemade tomato sauce, homemade desserts were always on hand, homemade granola bars, etc. Literally everything I made, or got the desire to make, I made from scratch. I froze products for use during the winter, I canned sauces and jams for use throughout the year, I spent a good half a day going through recipe books figuring out menu items to make. I calculated nutrition information in all of the products I made. Yup, it truly became a full time job. I have absolutely no time to do this now, and now that I am busy working and doing extra-curricular activities, I have no desire to attempt making half of the items I made over the Summer from scratch.

With all of that being said, I do still desire to make fancy meals. I don’t want all of my meals to appear as though cooking may be in the back seat. The recipe I am sharing today is a meal that I had never tried, but have always wanted to. The name in and of itself presents itself as a delicacy. It is super easy and fast, believe me! Enjoy, and give it a try this week!

Beef Wellington

Ingredients:

  • 1 package phyllo dough
  • 1 8 oz container of button mushrooms
  • 1 medium yellow onion
  • 2 Tbsp dijon mustard
  • 1 Tbsp oil
  • 1 Tbsp parsley
  • 1  lb already cooked loin or hamburger (you can cook the loin in the crockpot the day before)

Instructions:

  1. Remove phyllo dough from refrigerator and allow to sit out for 10 minutes. Divide into 4 roughly square pieces.
  2. In the meantime, sauté onion and mushrooms with oil in medium size skillet over medium-high heat, until tender. Stir in mustard. Sprinkle in parlsey and mix until evenly distributed. Set aside in bowl.
  3. If you are using a loin, I recommend cooking it in the crockpot the day before. Divide the loin into 4 pieces, so that each is roughly 1/4 lb. If you are using hamburger, you may divide the 1 lb of meat into 4 patties and using the same medium size skillet, cook the hamburgers until it reaches 145F (this is medium-rare). The meat will cook longer in the oven.
  4. While this is cooking, preheat oven to 425F.
  5. Using your four meat patties (loin or hamburger), place 1 piece of meat in center of 1 phyllo dough square. Add 1/4 of mushroom/onion mixture on top of meat. Fold the phyllo dough over top of the meat so that it is entirely covered.
  6. Place a piece of parchment paper onto a baking sheet. Place the 4 beef wellington’s onto the parchment paper. Place in oven for 20-25 minutes, or until dough is a golden brown.
  7. Remove from oven and serve with a vegetable, such as broccoli. Enjoy!

20170326_204858

Leave a Reply

