Baking

Lemon Meringue Pie

As some of you may know, I chose to give up dessert for the Lenten season. Dessert is my downfall. I have a sweet tooth that is hopelessly addicted. Breaking the habit of eating that “finisher” at the end of a meal is very hard. Or, breaking the habit of going to the cafeteria for a HUGE lunch time cookie, may be even harder.

So how have I done thus far? Well, so-so. I have certainly had my cheat days, which are allowed on Sundays. But I may have snuck in a few other cheat days. For instance, when I go to the fish fry on Friday and dessert is included in the meal, how could I pass that by? And when I went to a free dinner with a vendor and dessert was provided at the end of the meal. It was just staring at me, so I had to eat it! With all of this being said, most days I have resisted, and although I will be far from perfect with sticking to giving up desserts during the lent season, I have practiced some self-resistance.

Below is the dessert from the free vendor’s dinner. The desserts were a mini lemon meringue tart and a chocolate cake with chocolate mousse. I will provide you with an easy lemon meringue pie recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 1 graham cracker crust
  • 1 package lemon pudding mix
  • milk to make the pudding (look on package for the amount)
  • 1 8 oz container cool-whip

Directions:

  1. Make pudding according to directions. Pour into graham cracker crust and allow to set in refrigerator.
  2. Once pudding is set, spread cool whip over top of the pie.

IMG_0009

Leave a Reply

