Cooking

Orange Beef and Broccoli

Orange you glad it’s Monday!? haha! I went to Church a few Sundays ago and the pastor at my church told us that we should face the work week with a different attitude. I mean, who really says they are excited for Monday? It is the start of the work week, for most. It means you are a number of days away from the weekend, from Friday, and you may just be more tired from your weekend activities. Anyways, I know that having different attitudes about situations absolutely influences how you perceive things. However, I’m not so sure I can ever be THAT excited for a Monday.

Anyways, I have a recipe that will actually make you glad it truly is Monday! It’s healthy, fast and very delicious. It has a balance of sweetness and spiciness that just dances on your tastebuds. Believe me, I was very skeptical of this before I made it. I am not a huge fan of orange marmalade. I prefer grape jam, but would never want grape jam on meat – ick! I also am not a huge fan of sweet and spicy things – the whole chocolate cake and chili peppers grosses me out. If I am going to eat sweet food, I want it to remain sweet. If I am going to eat savory, spicy food, it should remain that way. The crossover action just confuses me. This is why I was so skeptical of the recipe. But I had heard of orange chicken and orange beef before. It seems common on Chinese menus. And so, I thought I would be daring and give it a try. Worst thing possible, I make it and it’s not the greatest. There’s always tomorrow for making another delicious recipe.  I encourage you to just try the recipe.

Ingredients:

Servings: 4

Directions:

  1. Brown beef in medium sized skillet over medium-high heat with lid on skillet. While this is browning, microwave broccoli and mushrooms in large bowl for 2 minutes (I was in a hurry so resorted to the microwave for faster steaming. This could also be cooked in the pan once the meat has browned, or in a steamer for 6-8 minutes).
  2. Drain the beef, then return to the heat on the stovetop.
  3. Add the cooked broccoli and mushrooms (it’s okay if it is not fully tender, as it will get more tender in the pan) to the browned beef.
  4. Add the orange marmalade, garlic, Southwest seasoning, and crushed red pepper flakes. Cook for 5 minutes, until marmalade has melted and flavors have blended.
  5. While this is finishing cooking, put the Uncle Ben’s ready rice in the microwave and follow package directions.
  6. Serve the meal with 1 cup ready rice and 1 cup of orange beef mixture.
Leave a Reply

