Cooking

Barbecue Rub

Warmer weather reminds me of the smell of barbecue. Barbecuing meats means that the meat is cooked for a long time at a low temperature. The goal is to impart as much smoked flavor as possible into the meat. While this is a time-consuming task, the flavors that develop by the end of the process are totally worth it.

When I was growing up, I thought barbecued meats meant a chicken breast with barbecue sauce slathered all over it. I think my Mother came up with her own term of what barbecue actually means. Although, I still love adding barbecue sauce to already barbecued meats. My boyfriend on the other hand, whom is from the South, abstains from using any barbecue sauce on barbecued meats. He feels the barbecued meat flavor should be cherished and not disguised with barbecue sauce. To each his own :).

I found a recipe for a barbecued pulled pork. Pulled pork is absolutely my favorite barbecued meat.  I have never barbecued my own meat, and perhaps some day I will try, but for now I think I’ll stick to allowing someone else to do the long labored hours of work. This recipe I found greatly reduces the amount of time that typical meats are cooked. Barbecuing meat can take upwards of 24 hours! Talk about planning ahead. With Barbecue, that is absolutely necessary. Anyways, this recipe I found only takes 10 hours, I know…ONLY!

The barbecued pork is first rubbed with an all begins with 3 hours on the grill with vented aluminum foil packets with soaked wood chips inside, over the grill’s primary burner. This imparts the smoky flavor. The grill is turned to high for 15 minutes, allowing the wood chips to begin smoking. The primary burner is then adjusted to maintain the grill temperature of 300-325F. The roast is placed in a disposable pan and cooked in the grill for 3 hours. Once the 3 hours are up, the roast is covered with aluminum foil and placed in the oven at 325F for 2 hours, or until meat is fork tender. The meat is then removed, pulled with a fork, and barbecue sauce is added at your own discretion.

If you want to attempt making this recipe, go for it! And make sure you let me know how hard, or easy it is!

Here is the rub for the pork, prior to grilling (adapted from The Science of Good Cooking):

1/4 cup paprika
2 Tbsp chili powder
2 Tbsp packed dark brown sugar
1 Tbsp granulated sugar
1 Tbsp salt
1 Tbsp oregano
1 Tbsp black pepper
1 Tbsp cayenne pepper
1 Tbsp garlic powder
1 Tbsp onion powder

The salt in the rub enhances juiciness and flavor throughout the meat, while the sugar caramelizes during the cooking process, creating a crunchy crust on the meat.

 

Leave a Reply

