Cooking

Super Easy, Flavorful Meatloaf for Two

Meatloaf sounds gross. I mean come on, who would desire to eat a meal called meatloaf? I guess if you are a real meat eater, perhaps meatloaf would sound appetizing. I think it is the loaf part that throws me off. Meat is good, although I could never ever kill an animal. And the meat that I see in the grocery store looks nothing like the animal, so it is easy for me to dissociate the meat with the creature. If I had to hunt for a living, I would probably starve.

Anyways, meatloaf, although to me the name sounds gross is actually very tasty. Meatloaf can really be made from any type of meat. However, most stores sell a specific blend of meats which allows for certain properties to be exhibited in the dish. At grocery stores you will find a “meatloaf mixture” to contain: beef, pork, and veal.  Why these 3 meats? Well let’s examine it.

Beef provides the most flavor out of all 3 meats. The pork provides a good deal of fat, allowing for the meatloaf to be more tender. The veal, due to the way the calf was raised 😦 (I am hugely against veal) provides a good amount of gelatin which allows for moisture retention in the meat.

I have actually never used a mixture of meat when I make meatloaf. Typically I use ground beef.  If you are looking for leaner cuts of meat, turkey, venison or bison are leaner than beef. These meats have significantly lower amounts of saturated fat than ground beef.

Pick the meat of your choice and enjoy the recipe below!

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb ground beef (or turkey)
  • 6 Ritz Crackers, crushed
  • 1/2 medium onion, diced
  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 1 tbsp Italian seasoning
  • 2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp chili powder

Instructions:

  1. Throw all ingredients in a bowl and mix together with hands to form an oval shaped piece of meat.  Some pieces may not stick together the best, but that’s okay.
  2. Bake at 425F for 35 minutes.
  3. Enjoy with a fresh vegetable, like broccoli!

20170120_19412520170120_193845

 

1 thought on “Super Easy, Flavorful Meatloaf for Two”

Leave a Reply

