Cooking

New Year’s Dinner Traditions

I sometimes forget that since I grew up in this area, there ARE in fact other traditions that people have. In my area, the food took me some time to get acquired to. The tradition stems from Pennsylvania Dutch/German traditions. If you think of meat and potatoes when you think of German traditions, you are correct! Pork, sauerkraut and mashed potatoes is what my family ate yesterday to bring in the New Year.

So where exactly did this tradition come from? According to the German Food Guide, it is believed that those who are dining together at the table wish each other good luck and enough money equivalent to the number of cabbage shreds in the meal. Well, I certainly would be okay with that, if those wishes came true! My luck would take a long time to run out based on how much sauerkraut my family eats.

It took me some time to acquire my tastebuds to sauerkraut, but now I truly love it. I look forward to this meal every year, to the start of a new year, and to a day to truly focus on looking ahead on what goals you want to accomplish.

So if you are daring to try out this New Year’s dinner tradition, Pennsylvania Dutch style, below is my recipe!

What traditions does your family have? (dinner and other events)

Ingredients

  • 1 pork loin
  • 1 bag silver floss sauerkraut
  • your favorite mashed potatoes recipe (I like to boil red skin potatoes, mash them with a hand held mixer, adding milk, rosemary and garlic to them – YUM!)

Instructions

  1. Place pork loin in crockpot at low heat setting. Add silver floss sauerkraut around pork in crockpot. Cook for 6-8 hours. The pork will be moist and tender!
  2. To assemble food on plate: cut a slice of pork, place a scoop of mashed potatoes beside the pork, then add sauerkraut on top of the pork and mashed potatoes. Remember I said I now love sauerkraut :)! If you’ve never had it, it may be best to just try a small spoonful of it to make sure you like it!

Enjoy!

1 thought on “New Year’s Dinner Traditions”

Leave a Reply

