Cooking

Favorite Recipe for 2016

As the final days of 2016 are within store, I began thinking about the variety of cooking experiments I had this year. I LOVE to cook, but my life has been so busy the past few years with graduate school that I had essentially ZERO time to cook. With the start of the Summer, I was granted some free time again and I began cooking.

This past year has certainly been fun in the kitchen. I have had some great recipes and some not so good recipes. I have tweaked and modified recipes. I have reduced calories and carbohydrates in recipes, and I have made super indulgent treats. I hope that for 2017 I continue to learn more about the culinary field, and further enhance my pastry skills.

With the array of recipes I have tried within this past year, I wanted to settle on one recipe to share with all of you. I am choosing this recipe, because it is so versatile, and while it is not a stand-alone recipe, it can be added to so many different things, and really jazz up the meal. Can you guess what I may be talking about? Oh yeah, the recipe incorporates a LOT of tomatoes in it. I’m sure now you know exactly what recipe I am going to share with you – tomato sauce! However, this tomato sauce is so easy to make, and so flavorful that you will never crave store-bought tomato sauce again.

And before you grab the recipe and go, please share your favorite recipe from 2016! I’d love to get some new ideas :).

Fresh From the Garden Tomato Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 1 lbs tomatoes
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 1 Tbsp oregano
  • 1/2 Tbsp parsley
  • 1/2 Tbsp thyme
  • 1/2 Tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 bay leaf

Instructions:

  1. Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Prepare a bowl with ice cold water in it. Add tomatoes to pot of boiling water and allow to boil for 1 minute. Remove with a strainer and allow tomatoes to cool in ice cold water. When tomatoes are able to be handled, remove from cold water and peel skin off of tomatoes. It should peel right off.
  2. Using a grater, grate peeled tomatoes on grater into a medium sized sauce pan. Add in onion, spices and bay leaf. Bring to a low boil over medium high heat. Allow to cook until sauce has reduced approximately in half.
  3. The sauce may be a bit watery, but it is delicious! You may use this immediately, or you may freeze the sauce for up to 3 months in an air tight freezer container.

20160824_081720.jpg2016-08-30 06.53.58.jpg

7 thoughts on “Favorite Recipe for 2016”

  1. You’re in graduate school too? Yay graduate school buddies. I know what you mean about not having the time to cook anymore. Thank you for the recipe! I can’t wait to try it out. I love pasta so I will definitely be using the sauce with it. 🙂

      1. No way!!! That’s awesome!! I LOVE the homemade sauce. It really is a different flavor than the store bought. Plus it has no added sugars that many store bought sauces have! I’m glad you tried it :). Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

