Baking

“Fresh Corn” – bread muffins

As per request of one of my readers, Bernie at Get Going, Get Running wanted me to create a healthy cornbread recipe.  Well, today I felt inspired by some of the fresh corn growing in my garden, and so I decided to create a recipe.  And yes, by the title of  my blog post, I used fresh corn in the recipe!

Unfortunately, I am not a HUGE cornbread fan, so it is difficult for me to assess this recipe.  To my taste, I think that it represents cornbread well.  It is certainly healthier, and has some functional ingredients in it, such as fiber.  I believe this bread would be really good with a pumpkin butter, apple butter, or jam of some kind!

To those of you who like cornbread, and feel daring to try my recipe, let me know what you think!

“Fresh Corn” – bread muffins

  • 3/4 c cornmeal
  • 1/4 c nutritional yeast (this has a cheesy/buttery flavor that I felt would impart a good addition to the  cornbread)
  • 1/2 c whole wheat flour
  • 1 T baking powder
  • 1/2 T baking soda
  • 1 T SPLENDA
  • 1 T imitation butter flavor
  • 1 c milk + 1 T white distilled vinegar (this makes a “buttermilk”)
  • 1 T ground chia seeds
  • 1 egg
  • 1 ear of corn, corn kernels cut off
  1. Spray muffin tins with olive oil spray.  Heat pan in 450F oven, until batter is ready.
  2. Mix cornmeal, whole wheat flour, baking powder, baking soda, nutritional yeast, and SPLENDA.
  3. Mix milk and vinegar and set aside.  Put egg and chia seeds in blender and blend for approximately 20 seconds, until egg is light in color.  Note – chia seeds may not grind up.  I was unable to grind them up completely in  my blender.
  4. Cut corn off of husk.
  5. Add milk+ vinegar mixture, and egg+chia seeds to the dry mix.  Stir just until blended, then fold in corn.
  6. Pull heated pan out of oven.  Pour batter, 3/4 full into muffin tins.
  7. Bake at 450F for 10 minutes.

Enjoy with some type of spread, cinnamon and sugar, or jam!

Image
I filled the muffin tins around 3/4 full. If you look closely, you can see some corn kernels!
Image
Finished cornbread muffins! And my attempt at fancy food photography!
12 thoughts on ““Fresh Corn” – bread muffins”

    1. I had found this GF blend which was to resemble that of an all purpose type flour:

      200 grams superfine brown rice flour
      150 grams sorghum flour
      50 grams potato flour
      250 grams sweet rice flour
      150 grams potato starch
      100 grams arrowroot powder
      100 grams cornstarch

      It’s a bit complex, because there are a variety of ingredients. I made a few different breads with this, but the bread always seemed to turn out dense, and not light and fluffy. However, from what I understand, GF breads seem to be more dense.

      Do you have a specific GF blend that you typically use?

      1. haha yes it is a bit much. If I am able to figure out something easier, I will certainly let you know! There are times I really feel in the mood to bake or cook and take time, but more times than not, I enjoy the fastest way to delicious food!

Leave a Reply

